Cancer Commission

PCS Cancer Commission (PCS CanCom)

Dr. Manuel Francisco Roxas introducing the PCS Cancer Commission during the PCS Annual Clinical Congress 2019.

Cancer is the third leading cause of morbidity and mortality in the country (Philippine Health Statistics 2009) and is therefore a national health priority with significant implications for individuals, families, communities, and the health system. Recognizing these facts, the Philippine College of Surgeons (PCS) created the Commission on Cancer to promote quality cancer care, specifically cancer surgery, across all regions and sectors of Philippine society. A soft launch of the Commission was held last September 12, 2019 during the PCS Foundation Day, followed by a formal inaugural launch last December 02, 2019 during the 2019 PCS Annual Clinical Congress.

The PCS Cancer Commission is a quasi-independent body within the PCS, whose mission is “is to be the national leader in promoting value-based, high quality cancer surgery and research.” Projects done by the Commission will be in consonance with the provisions of the Universal Health Care Law and the National Integrated Cancer Control Act.

Formal inauguration of the PCS CanCom during the PCS Annual Clinical Congress 2019. From left to right: PCS President 2019 Dr. George Lim, DOH Dr. Clarito Cairo, Jr., PCS CanCom Director and CSQORP Director Dr. Manuel Francisco Roxas, PCS CanCom Board Members Mr. Maximillan Ventura, Dr. Maria Lilibeth Sisa Su, Dr. Beatrice Tiangco, Ms. Kara Magsanoc-Alikpala, and Dr. Johanna Patricia Cañal, PCS CanCom Board Member and PCS Committee on Cancer Chairman Dr. Ida Marie Lim, PCS CanCom Board Member and CSQIP Director, Dr. Catherine SC Teh, and PCS CanCom Board Member and CCOSP Director Dr. Jose Rhoel de Leon

The Commission shall be governed by a separate nine-person Board of Directors, consisting of four (4) PCS Fellows and five (5) non-PCS members. In the current Board, the four PCS Fellows are Dr. Manuel Francisco Roxas, Commission Director and the Director for Cancer Surgery Quality Outcomes Review Program (CSQORP); Dr. Jose Rhoel de Leon, Director for the Cancer Community Outreach and Support Program (CCOSP); Dr. Catherine Teh, Director for the Cancer Surgery Quality Improvement Program (CSQIP); and Dr. Ida Marie Lim, PCS Committee on Cancer Chairman.

The other five (5) non-PCS Directors are Dr. Maria Lilibeth Sia Su, representing the Society of Gynecologic Oncologists of the Philippines; Dr. Johanna Patricia Cañal, representing the Philippine Radiation Oncologist Society; Ms. Kara Magsanoc-Alikpala, President of ICanServe Foundation (a patient support group); Dr. Beatrice Tiangco, a Medical Oncologist and CEO of CARE Philippines Foundation, Inc, a cancer registry provider; and Mr. Maximillan Ventura, President of Philam Foundation, Inc.”

Link featuring the event by UNTV (FB Video): Click here to view

First Organizational Meeting of the Commission last January 27, 2020. Standing from left to right: Dr. Rodney Dofitas, Mr. Maximillan Ventura, Dr. Beatrice Tiangco, Mr. Miko Balisi, Dr. Johanna Patricia Cañal, Dr. Shalimar Cortez, and Dr. Alfred Philip De Dios. Seated from left to right: Dr. Ida Marie Lim, Dr. Catherine SC Teh, Dr. Manuel Francisco Roxas, Dr Jose Rhoel de Leon, Ms. Kara Magsanoc-Alikpala, and Dr. Maria Lilibeth L. Sia Su.

PCS Alliance For Life: A Cancer Summit organized by the PCS Committee on Cancer and the PCS Cancer Commission last February 04, 2020 held at the Philippine Medical Association (PMA) Auditorium. It was a successful event where 131 individuals attended ranging from Cancer professionals to Lay persons from different barangays of Quezon City.