Trauma Commission

PCS Trauma, Injury and Burn Care Commission (PCS-TIBCC)

Trauma is the leading cause of mortality and morbidity in the Philippines. With the Philippine College of Surgeons (PCS) recognizing the fact that addressing trauma issues is a multi-disciplinary approach, a multi-disciplinary Commission on Trauma is envisioned to consolidate all stakeholders through education, engineering, evaluation, and encouragement.

Last May 08, 2019, an organizational meeting was called by the PCS Committee on Trauma and PCS President and was attended by the following stakeholders: PCS, Philippine Society for the Surgery of Trauma (PSST), Philippine Medical Association (PMA), Philippine College of Emergency Medicine (PCEM), Philippine Red Cross (PRC), Department of Health (DOH), and Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP). A Technical Working Group was created and assigned Dr. Teodoro J. Herbosa as the ad hoc chair.

Formal inauguration of the PCS-TIBCC during the PCS Annual Clinical Congress 2019. From left to right: PCS President 2019 Dr. George Lim, PCS TIBCC Director and Legislation Cluster Co-Director Dr. Teodoro Herbosa, PCS TIBCC Former Rehabilitation Cluster Director Col. (Dr.) Felix Terencio, PCS TIBCC Hospital Cluster Director Dr. Rolando Gerardo Dela Cruz, PCS TIBCC Disaster Risk Reduction Cluster Director Dr. Alfredo Mahar Francisco Lagmay, PCS TIBCC Injury Prevention Cluster Director Dr. Arthur Catli, PCS TIBCC Trauma System Co-Director Dr. Alejandro Tan, PCS TIBCC Legislation Cluster Co-Director Atty. (Dr.) Joel Macalino, PCS TIBCC Communications Cluster Dr. Dures Fe Tagayuna, and PCS President 2020 and PCS TIBCC Resource Generation Cluster Dr. Jose Antonio Salud

First Organizational and Strategic Planning Meeting last January 08, 2020. Dr. Herbosa giving a brief introduction about the Commission

On May 18, 2019, a workshop was conducted to formalize the proposed Trauma, Injury, and Burn Care Commission (TIBCC) forming the five (5) clusters: Injury Prevention, Trauma System, Hospital Care, Rehabilitation, and Disaster Risk Reduction. Each stakeholder is to represent the cluster and the Surgeon General of AFP was assigned to lead the Rehabilitation Cluster.

Furthermore, a soft launching of the Commission was held last September 12, 2019 during the PCS Foundation Day and a formal inaugural launching last December 02, 2019 during the 2019 PCS Annual Clinical Congress.

Hence, the Commission is a quasi-independent body within the PCS, whose mission is “to propose policies, guidelines and standards on prevention, trauma system, hospital, rehabilitation care and MCIs, engaging all stakeholders in all efforts that will help save the lives and benefit the Filipino people” and whose vision is being a “Transdisciplinary collaboration of stakeholders that leads in all aspects of care for the injured.

Standing from left to right: Dr. Jeremy Cordero, Dr. Betina Marie Gatmaitan, Dr. Glenn Angelo Genuino, Dr. Charlie Primero Gundran, Ms. Maria Belinda Evangelista, Dr. Arthur Catli, Dr. Rolando Gerardo Dela Cruz, Dr. Michaelangelo De Veyra, and Ms. Michelle Cusi. Seated from left to right: Dr. Alejandro Tan, Dr. Jose Antonio Salud, and Dr. Teodoro Herbosa

The Trauma, Injury and Burn Care Commission is composed of eight (8) directors, three (3) of whom are PCS Fellows: Dr. Jose Antonio Salud is the Director for Resource Generation Cluster; Dr. Dures Fe Tagayuna is the Director of the Communications Cluster; and Drs. Joel Macalino and Herbosa are co-Directors of the Legislative Cluster.

The other five directors and their respective clusters are as follows:

  1. Dr. Arthur Catli from the PRC: Injury-Prevention Cluster
  2. Dr. Alejandro Tan of PMA and Dr. Pauline Convocar of PCEM: Trauma Cluster
  3. Dr. Rolando Gerardo De la Cruz of PSST: Hospital Care Cluster
  4. AFP Representative: Rehabilitation Cluster
  5. Dr. Alfredo Mahar Francisco Lagmay of the UP- Nationwide Operational Assessment of Hazards: Disaster Risk Reduction Cluster